2nd XI clinch title

Monday 19th August 2013

Match report, Meopham II v Rumwood, Saturday 17 August


Meopham II 190-5 (11 pts) beat Rumwood 173 all out (4 pts) by 17 runs


Meopham deservedly clinched the Invicta League Division 3 title with a narrow victory over Rumwood at Meopham Green.


Rumwood won the toss and invited Meopham to bat. Against some early tight bowling, Meopham started slowly and lost Alex Bryant unluckily playing on. Skipper Tony Pearce and Mick Clark (23) gave the innings some momentum and this was continued once George Tompkins (35) joined Pearce who fell for 59 runs with the score on 123, after a partnership of 70 for the third wicket. Darren Deeks hit a brisk 30 in the middle order and further cameos came from Jack Dickety (12 not out) and Mick Kirby (16 not out), helping the hosts post 190-5 from their 45 overs.


In reply, Rumwood had an equally cautious start, opening bowlers Harry Tompkins and Dan Plumb giving very little away. Plumb bowled his 10 overs straight off to finish with excellent figures of 2-21, whilst Tompkins bowled two fine spells to finish with 1-27. Wickets fell at regular intervals but Rumwood kept up with the run rate thanks to Jordan Austin (42) and P Kenward who clubbed a hard hitting 45 not out. Miles Tucker returned figures of 2-37, and leg spinner George Tompkins snared three wickets. Fine catches were taken by Tony Thatcher, Mick Kirby and Alex Bryant. With the 9th wicket falling with more than 35 runs required the game seemed over, but Kenward kept going aided by some complacency in the field. 20 runs were needed from the final four overs, before Meopham wrapped up the win, and the league title through a Dan Plumb/Miles Tucker run out combination.


Newsletter subscription

Keep up to date with the latest news from Meopham Cricket Club

ECB latest scores